Handbook of the Mammals of the World - Volume 5

Monotremes and Marsupials

Illustrated by Toni Llobet
Published by Lynx Edicions

Published by Lynx Edicions in association with Conservation International and IUCN


Winner of the 2016 Whitley Medal

Each year the Royal Zoological Society of New South Wales, Australia, hosts the Whitley Awards. These awards are a tribute to Gilbert Whitley, an eminent Australian ichthyologist. The Whitley Awards seek out and acclaim the best publications published in the previous 12 months relating to Australasian zoology and the unique fauna of the region. The Whitley Medal and Special Commendation are the most sought after prizes in Australian zoological publishing. 

The Whitley Awards presentation ceremony was held at the Australian Museum in Sydney on September 22, 2016. On behalf of Lynx Edicions, Professor Christopher Dickman, accepted the award and gave a speech.

Platypus, Echidnas, Opossums, Kangaroos, Koalas, Wallabies, and Wombats – Monotremes and marsupials include a host of animals that have intrigued mammal fanciers for centuries. Monotremes are a very distinctive ancient group of mammals with only a handful of extant species in Australia and New Guinea and marsupials, with roots in South America, likely reached Australia via Antarctica some 50 million years ago. With relatives remaining in America, Marsupials have adapted to an amazing diversity of lifestyles and habitats. Volume 5 of HMW provides complete coverage of these two important groups of mammals. Lavishly illustrated with color photographs showing different behaviors of all of them, the text contains the latest up-to-date information on all families of Monotremes and Marsupials, both Australasian and American.

Families covered in this volume are:  
Family Tachyglossidae (Echidnas) Stewart Nicol
Family Ornithorhynchidae (Platypus) Tom Grant
Family Didelphidae (Opossums) Diego Astúa
Family Caenolestidae (Shrew-Opossums) Bruce Patterson
Family Microbiotheriidae (Monito del Monte) Eduardo Palma & Alejandro Valladares-Gómez
Family Notoryctidae (Marsupial Moles) Ken Aplin
Family Myrmecobiidae (Numbat) Tony Friend
Family Dasyuridae (Carnivorous Marsupials) Andrew Baker
Family Thylacomyidae (Greater Bilby) Rick Southgate
Family Peramelidae (Bandicoots and Echymiperas) Christopher Dickman
Family Phascolarctidae (Koala) Stephen Jackson
Family Vombatidae (Wombats) Rod Wells
Family Burramyidae (Pygmy Possums) Stephen Jackson
Family Phalangeridae (Cuscuses, Brush-tailed Possums and Scaly-tailed Possum) Kristofer Helgen & Stephen Jackson
Family Pseudocheiridae (Ring-tailed Possums and Greater Gliders) Stephen Jackson
Family Petauridae (Striped Possums, Leadbeater's Possum and Lesser Gliders) Stephen Jackson
Family Tarsipedidae (Honey Possum) Ronald Wooller
Family Acrobatidae (Feather-tailed Gliders and Feather-tailed Possum) Ken Aplin
Family Hypsiprymnodontidae (Musky Rat Kangaroo) Andrew Dennis
Family Potoroidae (Bettongs and Potoroos) Mark Eldridge & Greta Frankham
Family Macropodidae (Kangaroos and Wallabies) Mark Eldridge & Graeme Coulson



  Look inside